skip to main content

About Partnership for Safety

Partnership for Safety is a critical component of the ATO's Safety Management System. It provides a bridge between the front line employees and safety-critical data and analytic capabilities. This level of analytic capability, backed by facility benchmarks, has never before been in the hands of the frontline employees. The Safety Data Portal allows local safety councils to quickly identify, solve, and mitigate hazards that may not have come to light until a more serious incident occurred.

Our Mission

The mission of the ATO Partnership for Safety program is to facilitate the identification of risk through the use of collaborative safety councils comprised of employees and management at facilities in the National Air Space System (NAS).


NATCA represents a variety of bargaining units, from Air Traffic Control to Engineers and Architects. These bargaining units consist of members split up over 10 different regions, nine of which correspond to the geographic boundaries set by the FAA and deal primarily with air traffic related personnel.

The regions are broken up as such: Alaska, Central, Eastern, Great Lakes, New England, Northwest Mountain, Southern, Southwest, Western Pacific, and Region X. Region X, unlike the others, is nationwide in scope and encompasses the union's other represented bargaining units such as Engineers and Architects, Aerospace Medicine and more.

About FAA

The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is the national aviation authority of the United States. An agency of the United States Department of Transportation, it has authority to regulate and oversee all aspects of civil aviation in the U.S. The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 created the organization under the name "Federal Aviation Agency", and adopted its current name in 1966 when it became a part of the United States Department of Transportation.

About the NAS

The National Airspace System (NAS) of the United State has become one of the most complex aviation systems in the world, averaging about 50,000 flights each day.

The NAS is comprised of airspace; airports; aircraft; pilots; air navigation facilities; air traffic control (ATC) facilities; communication, surveillance, navigation, and supporting technologies and systems; operating rules, regulations, policies, and procedures; and the people who implement, sustain, or operate the system components. Together, these teams, technologies, and procedures work to provide safe and expeditious flight travel.